The Concertina book of Music, A. E. Hayman, 1886

This Concertina book of Music is a collection made in 1886 by A. E. Hayman. He has written in the inside cover:

“I foul not this book for fear of shame,
For in it is the owner’s name.
When I am dead and in my grave and all my bones are rotten,
Take up this book and think of me
When I am quite Forgotten. A.E.H”

He signs and dates it, “A. E. Hayman, June 13th 1886.”

This book has been made available by Alan Day. Part of it was published online by Juliette Daum and can still be downloaded as individual files: The first part can also be downloaded as a single PDF file from the site of Josh & Amelia:

All the pages are now available for download from this site in two .zip files:

The conversation about this collection spans several years and can be read at:

A huge thanks to Alan Day for sharing this precious concertina music collection.